It’s official! I’m a Master!

Shaking the hand of the Dean of Education

Last month my Masters of Education in Educational Practice degree was conferred at Simon Fraser University. My father took some amazing photos, including this photo of me about to shake hands with the Dean of Education, Dr. Kris Magusson. It was an amazing day full of friends, family and colleagues. I had a huge smile on my face all day!

I’m still processing and debriefing, in my mind, all that I learned and all the shifts in my thinking from the MEd last year. It’s absolutely changed the way I teach, the way I think, the way I live my life. I’ve taken a bit of a break from blog posts and professional reading. I continue to tweet, I write in my private journals at home, and I still work too many hours each week, but overall I’m finding time to give my mind a break. There are numerous topics that I want to post on each week but I’m choosing to spend my time with my thoughts and my family instead of spending my time on the computer. I’m thinking that I’ll get back to regular writing in this space soon because I am craving it. I just need a bit more time…

6 thoughts on “It’s official! I’m a Master!

  1. I read earlier about your success and can’t recall if I tweeted a congratulations. In any case, CONGTATS.

    I understand your need for a bit of quiet time for that brain of yours and enjoy following the snippets you continue to post in 140 characters or less.

    Well done!

    • Thanks! Yes, Dad did a great job! I didn’t have to purchase any of the professional photographs taken at the ceremony because Dad made a CD personalized just for me.

  2. Congratulations Errin! And that is a wonderful photo 🙂
    I know what you mean about needing a break. In the past little while I’ve started to compose many a post in my head, but so far haven’t posted anything on my blog. Hope to change that soon.
    All the best.

  3. Thanks Claire! We lead very busy lives in which time and priorities seem to rule the day! Someone asked me the other day what I was up to these days. I replied ‘nothing, except of course working and being a mom’. They then responded with that’s nothing, not even close!

    All the best to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *