Listening to technology close the distance

I’m sitting here listening to something amazing. Something that has changed my life and absolutely transformed connections within my family. Something entirely made possible by technology.

I’m sitting here listening to my son and my nephew play a video game together. Little Big Planet 2, to be exact, a fantastic game for kids and grown-ups alike. It’s full of creativity, based on the premise of helping others, and it’s visually stunning to boot. Coolest game ever. If you have kids, work with kids, are a big kid, and you haven’t heard of it or ever seen it, I highly recommend you check it out right away.

So far, there is nothing really remarkable about what I’m saying here. But, the thing is, my son lives with me in British Columbia and his cousin, my nephew, lives halfway across the continent in Manitoba with my brother. The gaming technology allows my son and my brother’s son, who see each other face to face maybe once a year, to play together whenever they want.

I’m listening to my son and my nephew play a video game together online. They are talking strategy and helping each other out as they play. They are, essentially, ‘hanging out’, playing a video game, and building their relationship with each other, all because of online gaming and the amazing technologies that they are fortunate enough to have at hand.

And, to me, especially after my Masters research last year, it’s the effect of the technology on the relationship that is what’s really amazing about what I’m listening to. Technology is enabling my son and my nephew to develop a relationship in a much deeper, relevant and meaningful way than they could ever possibly have otherwise as they are so far apart geographically. Sure, they could talk on the phone, email, video chat, look at the photos emailed back and forth, and they do, but it wasn’t until they started playing that particular video game online together that they really seemed to connect.

They are great friends when they are face to face. The one week or so a year that they see each other is wonderful. They are either the best of friends or they fight like old men who have known each other all their lives. It’s really cute and, for my brother and I, so precious to watch. But it’s also sad that they don’t live closer to each other. It was awful to see the tears and sadness when they have said goodbye in the past.

But I think, the next time they say good-bye, that the tears and sadness will be a little different. First of all, they will have a different, closer bond, next time they meet. I’m interested to see how their relationship is changed due to the shared gaming experience. And, when we go our separate ways, I’m guessing there will be some comment like ‘can you play next Tuesday? I’ll call you when I go online’ to set up the next time they can play. I predict there will be less sadness, more hope, and a stronger connection.

I guess what I’m listening to, then, is technology close the distance and build a bridge of closer connection. That is a worthwhile, transformative use of technology and a valuable way in which online gaming is enriching children’s lives and the bonds within a family. Amazing…

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Listening to technology close the distance

  1. Erinn,

    This is truly amazing! What a great description of the ever-changing and developing relationship between your son and your nephew. This is really something I would never have thought of before reading this. But, online gaming can really be an amazing bonding tool. It’s like they are right there with one another playing and bonding together – the way boys would do. Yah, they can talk on the phone, as you say, but if they were together in person, they would be bonding over a video game – just as they are now long distance, not talking.

    Just goes to show you just how powerful the internet is.

    I can’t wait to hear how their relationship continues to develop and how they are next time they are together in person.

    Thanks for posting,
    Tia

  2. Hi Tia! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! It’s so amazing what the internet can do – and this is, in my opinion, one of the best ways that kids can engage in online gaming!

    I’ll have to wait until the summer for the boys to be face to face again, but I’ll keep you posted as to how this all unfolds!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *